Wine & Book Talk with Salley Vickers

Wine & Book Talk with highly acclaimed author Salley Vickers

Monday 5th June 7pm to 8.30pm in the BookCafe (doors open 6.30pm)cover_jpg_rendition_242_374

Salley talks about her latest book ‘Cousins’ . Tickets £3 each includes complimentary glass of wine.

Brilliant and mercurial Will Tye suffers a life changing accident. The terrible event ripples through three generations of the complex and eccentric Tye family, bringing to light old tragedies and dangerous secrets. Each member of the family holds some clue to the chain of events which may have led to the accident and each holds themselves to blame. Most closely affected is Will’s cousin Cecelia, whose affinity with Will leaves her most vulnerable to his suffering and whose own life is for ever changed by how she will respond to it.

Told through the eyes of three women close to Will, his sister, his grandmother and his aunt, Cousins is a novel weaving darkness and light which takes us from the outbreak of World War Two to the present day, exploring the recurrence of tragedy, the nature of trangression, and the limits of morality and love.S Vickers best

Salley Vickers will read extracts from her book, followed by a question and answer session, and a book signing. Event starts from 7pm to 8.30pm, doors open 6.30pm.To reserve tickets tel 01845 524353 or e-mail: sales@whiterosebooks.com.

Posted in Coffee Bar News, Events, Latest News, Monthly enews, New Products | Leave a comment

Opening Times during May Bank Holiday weekends

We’re open throughout the May Bank Holiday weekends
Fri 9am-5.30pm, Cafe closes 4.30pm
Sat 9am-5.30pm ” ” ”
Sun 10am-5pm Cafe closes 4pm
Mon 10am-5pm ” ” “
Come & enjoy our cake and garden terrace, then browse in our shop for books, cards and gifts.tulips-52125_960_720

Posted in Children's Storytime, DEAL OF THE WEEK, Events, FREE EVENT, Latest News, Monthly enews, New Products | Leave a comment

Four Mums in a Boat …. an extraordinary challenge!

BOOK OF THE WEEK -

OFFER – £2 off, only £14.99, Yorkshire Rows, “Four Mums in a Boat” is the incredible true story of four ordinary working mums from Yorkshire who took on an extraordinary challenge (and broke a world record along the way). In doing so, they prove it’s never too late to go on a life-changing adventure, experience the beauty and power of the elements, push the limits of your abilities and discover who you really are. Tel: 01845 524353 or e-mail sales@whiterosebooks.co.uk to order a copy.

A great alternative Easter gift idea!

Children’s Choice of the Week

Bookshop Girl (New) by Sylvia Bishop. A Story of a little girl left in lost a property cupboard of a bookshop!

Book Group are reading The Waves by Virginia Woolf.

Yorkshire rowsStaff Book Choice is Golden Hill by Francis Spufford. Anna says that the last book group choice was excellent, pacy and set in New York in 1746.

Posted in Children's Storytime, Coffee Bar News, DEAL OF THE WEEK, Latest News, Monthly enews, New Products | Leave a comment

Stop Press … Author’s Corner news!

STOP PRESS … We’ll be welcoming back author, Claire Fuller on Saturday 18th March, 10.30am.

Claire is dropping in to sign copies of her new book. ‘Swimming Lessons’ Penguin, Hardback, £14.99.
Claire also wrote ‘Our Endless Numbered Days’ £7.99 that won the 2015 Desmond Elliott Prize.

Everyone is welcome to come along to meet Claire.Claire Fuller Our Endless Numbered Daysswimming-lessons

Posted in Coffee Bar News, Events, FREE EVENT, Latest News, Monthly enews, New Products | Leave a comment

NEW … March updates & offers

March news … please click on the link below

http://eepurl.com/cGkmsr

spring mar 9

Mother’s day gifts, cards and Café offer – Mother’s Day Cream Tea £4.75 each, Wine & Book Talk with Julia Chapman 13.4.17, World Book Day vouchers redeemable to 26.3.17, Tea Garden open again soon, PLUS we are delighted to be on the Regional Shortlisted for Indie Bookshop of the Year … we’ve got plenty to talk about, come & see us soon!Horses Heifers and Hairy Pigs CoverCongratulations_eTlxuVng

 

Posted in Children's Storytime, Coffee Bar News, DEAL OF THE WEEK, Events, FREE EVENT, Latest News, Monthly enews, New Products | Leave a comment

Wine & Book Talk

Wine and book talk with Julia Chapman

Signing’ Date with Death’ – The Dales Detective Series

Thursday 13th April, 7pm-8.30pm, £3 ticket includes Welcome Drink, at White Rose Bookcafe.

Ideal for fans of Midsomer MurdersDate with Death

Samson O’Brien has been dismissed from the police force, and returns to his hometown of Bruncliffe in the Yorkshire Dales to set up the Dales Detective Agency while he fights to clear his name. However, the people of Bruncliffe aren’t that welcoming to a man they see as trouble.

JULIA CHAPMAN is the pseudonym of Julia Stagg. Julia currently lives in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales in the north of England. When not writing, she spends her time out in the hills, running on the fells that provide the beautiful setting for the Dales Detective novels, or riding her bike through the small hamlets and villages that are a vital part of her books.

Tel: 01845 524353 to reserve tickets.
“Great fun!” Carol Drinkwater

Posted in Coffee Bar News, Events, Latest News, Monthly enews, New Products | Leave a comment

Book Recommendations this week 13 March

Book of the Week, The Life of a Scilly Sergeant by Colin Taylor, rrp £8.99. Soon to be a major TV series.

Children’s Choice of the Week, The Everything Machine, by Ally Kennen, (age 8-11), What happens when Olly orders a hutch and gets a 3D printer delivered y mistake!

The Book Group are reading, Golden Hill by Francis Spufford. Winner of the Costa First Novel Award.

cover.jpg.rendition.460.707The Everything machine

Posted in Children's Storytime, Latest News, Monthly enews, New Products | Leave a comment

World Book Day March 2nd & this weeks Book Recommendations

 

cover_jpg_rendition_460_707This weeks book recommendations 27.2.17

Staff Book ChoiceCommon Ground by Rob Cowen, Anna says “A Harrogate edge-land in kaleidoscopic detail. Brilliant!”.

Spring – an anthology to welcome in the new season. Edited by Melissa Harrison, £12.99.spring28210186

Book Group monthly book – Outrun by Amy Liptrot.

Children’s Choice of the Week – All the World Book Day books, school children are entitled to receive a £1 World Book Day book token to exchange for a FREE World Book Day Books or is redeemable against any book or audio book costing £2.99/£3.99 at White Rose BookCafe.

Redemption period for the £1 World Book Day book tokens is 27.2.17 to 26.3.17.

We’ve are pleased to welcome pupils from Cundall Manor School visiting us for World Book Day this week, every morning form 9.30am to 11.30am. They have enjoyed some doodling activities from #TomGatesdoodles, storytime with Jeanette in our Story Room, and eagerly devoured our homemade cakes …  not sure which bit they preferred best?!Cundall day 2 b

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE DSC_2112 Exif_JPEG_PICTURE Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Happy World Book Day!

Posted in Children's Storytime, Coffee Bar News, Events, FREE EVENT, Latest News, Monthly enews, New Products | Leave a comment

We are recruiting…

Job DescriptionFood & Beverage Supervisor

Our Company :            White Rose BookCafe is an award winning bookshop and coffee bar in Thirsk. We pride ourselves on offering our customers a blend of great coffee, books, gifts and cards, in relaxing, attractive surroundings. We have expanded our Cafe area and menu to include light lunches, alongside our existing cakes, scones and biscuits.

Department:               Coffee Bar/cafe

Reports to:                  Business Superviser & Director

Hours of work:            Full time position up to 37.5 hours per week over 7 days, to include weekends and Bank Holiday working.

Job summary:              To manage the development and preparation of a light lunch menu within an existing coffee bar environment. You will be required to offer a professional, friendly and efficient service to our customers, provide advice and assistance to current staff, undertake cleaning duties and ensuring compliance to company policies and current legislation.  Manage stock ordering, waste levels, health and safety in both café and prep kitchen.

Essential skills, Experience and/or qualifications:

  • Good organisational skills
  • Good team working skills and ability to work with minimal supervision
  • Working knowledge of Health and Safety legislation, COSHH
  • A comprehensive understanding of Food Hygiene Regulations
  • Good interpersonal and customer facing skills
  • Good oral communications skills and an ability to communicate at all levels
  • A conscientious, enthusiastic and ‘can do’ working style

Desirable Skills, Experience and/or Qualifications:

  • Food Hygiene Certificate desirable, training given if not achieved
  • Attainment of a GCSE English and Mathematics qualification to a minimum level grade C (or equivalent)
  • Barista training or similar (training given if required)
  • Experience of working in a catering environment or similar
  • Working knowledge of till systems

Duties:

  • Preparing and cooking a variety of light lunch dishes; soups, paninis and sandwiches
  • Assist and give guidance for new and existing staff in all aspects of their work with food service, giving instruction where appropriate
  • Assisting in preparation of drink refreshments
  • Making sure good nutritional standards are maintained
  • Making sure that all food at point of delivery is of the highest quality
  • Table service to customers when necessary
  • Responsible for high standards of food, hygiene and health and safety
  • Responsible for ordering and stock control and rotation of food and ancillary supplies (cleaning products etc)
  • Responsible for fridge and freezer cleaning and management
  • Undertake and achieve company funded industry recognised Food Hygiene qualification if not currently held
  • To prepare menus in advance in a regular and varied way
  • Promote and ensure the good reputation of the business
  • Ensure that all information of confidential nature gained in the course of duty is not divulged to third parties
  • Carry out other tasks that may be reasonably assigned to you
  • This job description indicates the main duties and responsibilities of the post. It is not intended as an exhaustive list.

Remuneration: Dependent on current qualifications and experience this role will attract a wage of £7.40 per hour.

Application: Ideally the suitable candidate will start in March 2017, interviews will be immediate. Please apply with CV and references by post or e-mail addressed for the attention of Sue Lake at the following address;

White Rose Books, 79-81 Market Place, Thirsk, North Yorkshire, YO7 1ET

e-mail: sue@whiterosebooks.co.uk                                      tel: 01845 524353

Poster Vacancy Food & Beverage Supervisor Feb 2017

Posted in Coffee Bar News, Events, Latest News, Monthly enews, New Products | Leave a comment

Book of the Week 13 Feb

Book of the Week -  ‘It Can’t Happen Here’ by Sinclair Lewis, £8.99. Recommended by Anna “A cautionary tale- yes, it can happen!”

Children’s Book recommendation - Pet Dragon by M.P Robertson and Sally Symes. Anna says “The ultimate dragon-care guide. Remember a dragon is for life!”.

The Book Group are reading ‘The Outrun’ by Amy Liptrot, a lyrical, brave memoir with an Orcadian backdrop.

It cant happen herePet DragonThe Outrun

 

Posted in Children's Storytime, Latest News, Monthly enews, New Products | Leave a comment