Latest Press Release – Thirsk Bookshop vies for UK Crown!

White Rose BookCafe, Thirsk received the exciting news that they have won Independent Bookseller North as part of The Bookseller Industry Awards, having revamped their premises in 2013 and added a new stream of events including cabaret evenings, Sue Lake, Director said

‘To be awarded the accolade of best Independent Bookseller North is a fantastic recognition of the hard work all the staff put in every day, I’m absolutely delighted.”  The bookshop employs 15 staff throughout the week and was established in 1995 by father and daughter, the late Steve Clements & Sue Lake, later sister Caroline Nicholls joined them, and now Manager Yvonne Houchen along with a close team of loyal staff.

The Bookseller Industry Awards’ seven regional independent bookshop winners have been hailed for their “innovation, passion and expertise”. This means that the BookCafe and six other regional winners form the shortlist for the Independent Bookshop of the Year. The winner will be revealed at a glitzy awards gala at the Hilton Park Lane, London on Monday May 12, along with a Bookseller trophy, the winner will receive £5,000 from sponsor Gardners.

Other regional winners are Dulwich Books, Booka Bookshop, Chorleywood Bookshop, The Blessington Bookstore, The Edinburgh Bookshop, Winstone’s.

A team of judges whittled down 38 shortlisted indies for the Gardners-sponsored award to just seven after an “extremely difficult” decision-making process.

The judging panel includes senior members of The Bookseller’s editorial team alongside industry figures with a wealth of relevant experience, and are as follows: Philip Jones Editor, The Bookseller; Tom Tivnan Features and insight editor, The Bookseller; Michael Neil  has worked in and around the UK book trade for the last 25 or so years; Peter McKay Chief executive, The Publishing Training Centre; Alex Hardy Publishing lawyer, Harbottle & Lewis; Ruth Mortimer Editor, Marketing Week; Nicholas Lovell, Author; Adele Parks, Author; Ion Trewin, Literary director, Man Booker Prizes; Alistair Burtenshaw Director, The Charleston Trust.

Tom Tivnan, The Bookseller features and insight editor, who led the judging team, said: “There has been a lot of news about the challenges that indies are facing recently. But as judges, we were greatly impressed by the depth of bookselling talent we had to choose from. The decisions were extremely difficult, but given the level of innovation, passion and expertise that were on display from all our shortlisted shops, I think I can say without fear of contradiction that indie bookselling has a very strong future.” (taken from The Bookseller)

The Independent Bookseller of the Year Award forms part of the Bookseller Industry Awards, which span retail and publishing, recognising excellence and achievement within the industry.  The judging criteria covers a whole range of bookselling disciplines including operational excellence from the range of stock available, helpfulness and knowledgeable staff, web innovation and premises, to promotions and opening hours, customer service including ‘going the extra mile’ for their customers, and community involvement seeing how the bookshop fits into the local area with a range of events and programmes working in the community. 


This entry was posted in Coffee Bar News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *